Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB089 (1999)

ARLB089 ARRL Board of Directors Election Results

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 89  ARLB089
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  November 19, 1999
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB089 ARRL Board of Directors Election Results

The ARRL Great Lakes Division will have a new Director and Vice
Director in January, and there are new faces in division leadership
positions in the Dakota, Midwest and Pacific divisions.

The ARRL Committee of Tellers for the election of Directors and Vice
Directors for the 2000-2002 and 2000-2003 terms met at ARRL
Headquarters November 19 to open and tally ballots submitted by ARRL
members in the affected divisions. Balloting for Director occurred
in the Great Lakes and Midwest Divisions. Balloting for Vice
Director took place in the Atlantic, Great Lakes, and Pacific

In the Great Lakes Division George Race, WB8BGY, was the victor in a
three-way race to again serve as Director. The tally showed
Race--the current Great Lakes Vice Director--nosing out current
Great Lakes Director Dave Coons, WT8W, by 101 votes--1700 to 1599.
Challenger Murray Scott, KE8UM, garnered 1302 votes.

In 1995, Race--the Great Lakes Vice Director since 1990--assumed the
Director's position when former Director Al Severson, AB8P, now a
Silent Key, resigned. In 1997, Race was defeated for election to the
Director's post by Joe Falcone, N8TI. Falcone resigned just three
months into his term, elevating then-Vice Director Coons to
Director. Race subsequently was named to again serve as Vice
Director. Earlier this year he filed nomination papers seeking to
regain the top job in the Division.

Gary Johnston, KI4LA, will be the new Great Lakes Vice Director. He
defeated Lawrence Solak, WD8MPV, 2498 to 2010. Race and Johnston
will serve three-year terms.

In the Midwest Division Robert W. Walstrom, W0EJ, defeated John
Seals, WR0R, 2050 to 766, for a three-year term as Director.
Walstrom--an ARRL Life Member--will replace retiring Director Lew
Gordon, K4VX.

In the Atlantic Division, incumbent Vice Director Bernie Fuller,
N3EFN, beat back a challenge from John Buchanan, KW3X. The vote was
3047 to 2038. Fuller will serve a three-year term.

In the Pacific Division race for Vice Director, Robert Vallio,
W6RGG, won a three-way race over Jettie Hill, W6RFF, and John Ronan,
III, K3ZJJ. Vallio polled 1278 votes to 1186 for Hill and 1155 for
Ronan. An ARRL Life Member, Vallio--who's currently East Bay Section
Manager--will serve a two-year term.

Several candidates were unopposed and were declared elected. They
include incumbent Directors Kay Craigie, WT3P (Atlantic), Rick
Roderick, K5UR (Delta), and Frank Butler, W4RH (Southeastern) and
incumbent Vice Directors Bruce Frahm, K0BJ (Midwest) and Evelyn
Gauzens, W4WYR (Southeastern).

Incumbent Directors Tod Olson, K0TO (Dakota) and Brad Wyatt, K6WR
(Pacific), also decided not to seek re-election. Incumbent Vice
Directors Jay Bellows, K0QB (Dakota), and James Maxwell, W6CF
(Pacific), will move up to Director in their respective divisions.
Newcomer Twila Greenheck, N0JPH, was unopposed to become the Dakota
Division's new Vice Director.

Terms of office for all successful candidates begin at noon January
1, 2000.

No candidate was nominated for the Delta Division Vice Director
position, now held by Henry Leggette, WD4Q. The ARRL Articles of
Association provide that ''Should the office of Vice Director be
vacant, the vacancy shall be filled by appointment by the


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn