Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB066 (2003)

ARLB066 Tennessee, Alabama Getting New Section Managers

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 66  ARLB066
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  November 19, 2003
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB066 Tennessee, Alabama Getting New Section Managers

New ARRL Section Managers will take the reins in Tennessee and
Alabama, while incumbent SMs will continue in seven other ARRL
sections. Ballots in contested races were counted November 18 at
ARRL Headquarters. Two-year terms for successful candidates begin
January 1, 2004.

In Tennessee, Larry W. Marshall, WB4NCW, of Fayetteville beat back a
challenge from Mark T. Wills, AG4OA, 664 to 191. An Extra class
licensee and ARRL Net Manager since 2000, Marshall served from 1996
until 2001 as an Emergency Coordinator. He'll replace Terry Cox,
KB4KA, Tennessee SM since 2002 who decided not to run for another

In Alabama, Greg Sarratt, W4OZK, of Harvest, was the only nominee
for SM and was declared elected. He now serves as ARRL Alabama
Technical Coordinator. Sarratt will replace Bill Cleveland,
KR4TZ--Alabama SM since 1999--who did not stand for re-election.

In the only other contested race, incumbent Kansas SM Ron Cowan,
KB0DTI, outpolled Steve Hamilton, KB0JYL, 430 to 122. Appointed
Kansas SM last January, Cowan has been completing the term of Orlan
Cook, W0OYH, who stepped down.

Six incumbent ARRL Section Managers ran unopposed and were declared
elected. They are David Stevens, KL7EB, Alaska; Randall Carlson,
WB0JJX, Delaware; Ti-Michelle Connelly, NJ6T, East Bay; Bill
Weatherford, KM5FT, New Mexico; Rob Griffin, K6YR, Santa Barbara;
and Bill Voedisch, W1UD, Western Massachusetts.

ARRL will re-solicit for candidates for the position of Michigan SM,
a post now held by Dale Williams, WA8EFK. Williams was appointed in
June to replace Debbie Kirkbride, KA8YKK, who stepped down.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn