Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB051 (2001)

ARLB051 Section Manager election results announced

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 51  ARLB051
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  November 21, 2001
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB051 Section Manager election results announced

Section Manager results have been announced for Tennessee, Alaska
and Alabama. In Tennessee, Terry Cox, KB4KA, of Collierville, edged
out David Bower, K4PZT, 540 to 538. Cox and Bower were vying for the
honor of succeeding O.D. Keaton, WA4GLS, who decided not to run for
another term.

Keaton had served two stints as SM in the Volunteer State--from 1971
until 1979 and from 1992 until the present.

In Alaska, incumbent SM L. Kent Petty, KL5T, beat back a challenge
from David W. Stevens, KL7EB. The final vote was 154 to 104. But
despite his victory, Petty--who has been Alaska's SM since January
2000--has decided that he no longer wants the position. He plans to
step down in January, leaving ARRL Field and Educational Services
Manager Rosalie White, K1STO, to appoint a successor.

In Alabama, incumbent SM Bill Cleveland, KR4TZ, defeated Chris
Sells, AC4CS, 391 to 153. Cleveland has served as Alabama SM since
March 1999.

Ballots were counted November 20 at ARRL Headquarters. Due to the
closeness of the outcome in the Tennessee race, counters reviewed
the ballots four times. Two-year terms for successful candidates
begin January 1.

In related news, White has appointed John J. Cline, K7BDS, to
succeed Michael Elliott, K7BOI, as Idaho SM, effective January 1.
Elliott is resigning because of increased career responsibilities.
Cline lives in Boise and is a former San Diego SM.

White now is considering possible replacements for Georgia SM Sandy
Donahue, W4RU, and San Diego SM Tuck Miller, NZ6T. Donahue and
Miller recently were elected as vice directors in the Southeastern
and Southwestern divisions, respectively.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn