Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB049 (2001)

ARLB049 Vice Director election results announced in three ARRL divisions

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 49  ARLB049
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  November 16, 2001
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB049 Vice Director election results announced in three ARRL divisions

Ballots were counted today at ARRL Headquarters in contested races
for vice director in three ARRL divisions for the 2002-2005 term.
The Committee of Tellers has certified the results of these
contested elections.

In the Pacific Division incumbent Vice Director Bob Vallio, W6RGG,
of Castro Valley, California--a retiree--garnered 1924 votes to beat
back a challenge from physician Gerald D. Griffin, K6MD, of Pacific
Grove, California. Griffin polled 1225 votes.

A ham since 1952, Vallio, 65, was SM and, previously, Section
Communications Manager of the East Bay Section and is completing his
second year as Pacific Division Vice Director.

In the Southeastern Division, Georgia SM and retired TV traffic
coordinator Nelson E. ''Sandy'' Donahue, W4RU, of Atlanta, Georgia,
outpolled West Central Florida Assistant Section Manager and
computer programmer-analyst Paul J. Toth, NA4AR, of Seminole,
Florida, 2783 to 2305. They were contending for the seat being
vacated by Vice Director Evelyn Gauzens, W4WYR, who decided not to
seek a new term after 22 years of service.

A frequent hamfest and convention attendee, Donahue, 56, is in his
third term as Georgia SM and has been an Assistant Director since
the mid-1980s. He's been a ham for more than 40 years.

In the Southwestern Division, San Diego Section Manager and train
operator Tuck Miller, NZ6T, of National City, California, defeated
electrical engineer Edward J. ''Ned'' Stearns, AA7A, of Scottsdale,
Arizona. The vote was 2485 to 2208. Miller thus gains the vice
director's position being vacated by Art Goddard, W6XD, who ran
unopposed for director upon the retirement of Fried Heyn, WA6WZO.
Heyn has served as director since 1984.

A ham since 1991, Miller, 48, has served as San Diego SM since 1998
and is active in the Amateur Radio Emergency Service.

Vallio, Donahue and Miller all are ARRL Life Members.

In addition to Goddard, those unopposed for directors' seats were
incumbents Jim Maxwell, W6CF, in the Pacific Division; Walt Stinson,
W0CP, in the Rocky Mountain Division, Frank Butler, W4RH, in the
Southeastern Division and Coy Day, N5OK, in the West Gulf Division.

Vice directors' positions who went unchallenged in this election
cycle were incumbents Warren G. ''Rev'' Morton, WS7W, in the Rocky
Mountain Division; and David Woolweaver, K5RAV, in the West Gulf

All unopposed candidates were declared elected. New terms for all
successful candidates begin at noon January 1, 2002, and run for
three years.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn