Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB025 (2011)

ARLB025 Fall Section Manager Election Results

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 25  ARLB025
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  November 23, 2011
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB025 Fall Section Manager Election Results

ARRL members in New Mexico, Tennessee, and Michigan will have new
Section Managers, beginning January 1, 2012. Members in Kansas also
re-elected their Section Manager in a balloted race that concluded
when ballots were counted and verified at ARRL Headquarters on
Tuesday, November 22.

In New Mexico, Bill Kauffman, W5YEJ, received 365 votes, and his
opponent Edward James, KA8JMW, of Albuquerque, received 255 votes.
Kauffman, of Rio Rancho, has been New Mexico's Section Emergency
Coordinator for more than 21 years. He will be taking the reins from
Don Wood, W5FHA, who is completing his second term as New Mexico
Section Manager at the end of the year.

In Tennessee, current Section Manager Glen Clayton, W4BDB, was
declared elected as the Vice Director of the ARRL's Delta Division;
his term begins at noon on January 1, 2012. Clayton's ascendency to
the Vice Director position created a vacancy for Section Manager in
the Tennessee Section. There were three candidates for the Section's
top slot: Keith Miller, N9DGK, of Rockvale; R. Lowell Bennington,
WD4DJW, of Harrison, and Jack R. Green, AD4LP, of Sale Creek. Miller
won the election with 417 votes. Bennington came in second with 341
votes, and Green received 196 votes. Miller has been active as an
officer of the Stones River Amateur Radio Club for several years and
has served as an Emergency Coordinator, District Emergency
Coordinator and Assistant Section Emergency Coordinator in the
Tennessee Section.   Ron Cowan, KB0DTI, of LaCygne, was re-elected
as the Kansas Section Manager with 375 votes. His opponent, Brian
Short, KC0BS, of Olathe, received 238 votes. Cowan has been Section
Manager since 2003.

The following incumbent ARRL Section Managers did not face
opposition and were declared elected for their new two-year terms of
office beginning January 1, 2012: David Drummond, W4MD, Alabama; Jim
Larsen, AL7FS, Alaska; Frank Filipkowski, AD3M, Delaware; Jim
Latham, AF6AQ, East Bay; Robert Griffin, K6YR, Santa Barbara, and Ed
Emco, W1KT, Western Massachusetts.

In West Texas, Bill Robert, W5NPR, will continue as Section Manager
on January 1. His term, however, is for 18-months. Roberts has been
Section Manager since July when he was first appointed after John
Dyer, AE5B, the previous West Texas SM, completed his term of office
on June 30. Since there were no nominations received as of the
springtime receipt deadline, nominations were re-solicited in the
summer. Roberts, W5NPR, was officially nominated by the September 9
nominations deadline, and he did not face opposition. Therefore,
Bill was declared elected for the new term.

Michigan will have an Interim Section Manager, beginning January 1.
Larry Camp, WB8R, has been appointed as the Interim Michigan Section
Manager starting on January 1. He will take over for Dale Williams,
WA8EFK, who was declared elected as the new Vice Director of the
Great Lakes Division. Williams' term begins at noon on January 1,
2012. A lifelong resident of Coldwater, Camp has been an Amateur
Radio operator since 1978. He has a wide experience in the ARRL
Field Organization as Emergency Coordinator for Branch County, a
past Section Traffic Manager and a past QMN Net Manager. He is also
a past multi-year president of the Branch County Amateur Radio Club
and also enjoys teaching Amateur Radio licensing classes for new

Section Manager Nomination Petition Resoliciation

Since no nominations were received for the Michigan Section Manager
election by the nomination deadline of September 9, 2011,
nominations are hereby re-solicited. Nomination petitions need to be
received at ARRL Headquarters by 4 PM (EST) on March 9, 2012. If
more than one member is nominated in the section, ballots will be
mailed from Headquarters on or before April 2, 2012, to full members
of record as of March 9, 2012, which is the closing date for
nominations. Returns will be counted on May 22, 2012. A Section
Manager elected through re-solicitation will serve a term of 18
months and take office on July 1, 2012.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn