Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB024 (2004)

ARLB024 Minnesota Elects New Section Manager

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 24  ARLB024
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  August 24, 2004
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB024 Minnesota Elects New Section Manager

The ARRL Minnesota Section will be getting a new Section Manager.
Richard H. ''Skip'' Jackson, KS0J, of Inver Grove Heights, received
646 votes to outpoll Chuck Gysi, N2DUP, of Rochester, who got 332
votes. Jackson will succeed SM Randy ''Max'' Wendel, KM0D, who has
served as Minnesota's SM since 1993 and did not seek another term.

First licensed in 1955, Jackson cites 40 years experience in
technical management and electronics among his primary assets. In
recent years, he says, his primary Amateur Radio focus has been on
emergency communications and public service. Jackson pledged during
his campaign to appoint a management team to help him to guide the
section during his tenure.

The Minnesota SM slot was the only contested race in the current SM
election cycle. Incumbent SMs in eight other ARRL sections ran
without opposition for new terms. They are Betsey Doane, K1EIC,
Connecticut; Doug Rich, W7DVR, Idaho; Kent Olson, KA0LDG, North
Dakota; Joe Phillips, K8QOE, Ohio; John Thomason, WB5SYT, Oklahoma;
Sherri Brower, W4STB, Southern Florida; John Ellis, NP2B, Virgin
Islands, and Scott Bauer, W2LC, Western New York.

Two-year terms for all successful candidates begin October 1. Since
there were no candidates for Puerto Rico SM, the League will
resolicit nominations for that position. Current ARRL Puerto Rico SM
Victor Madera, KP4PQ, has decided not to run for another term.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn