Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB023 (2010)

ARLB023 ARRL Director, Vice Director Election Update

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 23  ARLB023
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  August 27, 2010
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB023 ARRL Director, Vice Director Election Update

Five incumbents have been declared elected without opposition, while
there will be balloting for the Director position in the
Southeastern, Southwestern and West Gulf Divisions, and for the Vice
Director position in the Southeastern and West Gulf Divisions.
Ballots will be counted on Friday, November 19, 2010, and those
elected will serve three-year terms beginning at noon on January 1,

Pacific Division

As the only nominee for Director in the Pacific Division, Bob
Vallio, W6RGG, of Castro Valley, California, was declared
re-elected.  Vallio has been Pacific Division Director since
February 2003 when, as Vice Director, he assumed the position upon
the death of Jim Maxwell, W6CF.

Vice Director Jim Tiemstra, K6JAT, of Oakland, California, was also
running unopposed and has been declared elected.  Tiemstra was
appointed Vice Director in June 2009 to fill a vacancy created by a

Rocky Mountain Division

Current Rocky Mountain Director Division Brian Mileshosky, N5ZGT, of
Albuquerque, New Mexico, was unopposed for the position.  This will
be Mileshosky's second term as Director; he previously served as
Rocky Mountain Division Vice Director for one full term, from

Vice Director Dwayne Allen, WY7FD, of Devils Tower, Wyoming, was
also re-elected.  This will also be Allen's second term.

Southeastern Division

Incumbent Southeastern Division Director Greg Sarratt, W4OZK, of
Huntsville, Alabama, faces two challengers for his position:  Sherri
Brower, W4STB, of Vero Beach, Florida, and Doug Rehman, K4AC, of
Mount Dora, Florida.  Sarratt has served one term as Director; in
2007 he was elected to replace Frank Butler, W4RH, of Fort Walton
Beach, Florida, who retired after 50 years of elected service to the

Two candidates are running for Vice Director in the Southeastern
Division:  Incumbent Jeff Beals, WA4AW, of Loxahatchee, Florida, and
Andrea Hartlage, KG4IUM, of Grayson, Georgia.  Beals was appointed
as Vice Director in June 2009 upon the death of Sandy Donahue, W4RU.

Southwestern Division

Current ARRL Southwestern Division Director Dick Norton, N6AA, of
Topanga, California, will face challenger Carl Gardenias, WU6D, of
Perris, California.  Norton has served two terms as Director.

Having no opponent, incumbent Vice Director Marty Woll, N6VI, of
Chatsworth, California was re-elected.  This will be Woll's second
term as Vice Director.

West Gulf Division

Current ARRL West Gulf Division Director Dr David Woolweaver, K5RAV,
of Harlingen, Texas, will face Larry Essary, K5XG, of Lucas, Texas,
for that position.  Dr Woolweaver served as Vice Director from 2000
to 2009 and became Director upon the resignation of Coy Day, N5OK.

Incumbent Vice Director for the West Gulf Division, John Robert
Stratton, N5AUS, of Austin, Texas, will face challenger Michael
Reynolds, W0KIE, of Tulsa, Oklahoma.  Stratton was appointed Vice
Director in August 2010 after the resignation of John Thomason,


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn