Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB016 (2006)

ARLB016 Vice Director election set in Roanoke Division

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 16  ARLB016
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  August 25, 2006
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB016 Vice Director election set in Roanoke Division

The only contest in the current election cycle for ARRL Director and
Vice Director seats is in the Roanoke Division. Petitions for the
vice director seat have been filed by Patricia Hensley, N4ROS, and
the incumbent, the Rev Leslie Shattuck, K4NK. The ARRL Ethics and
Election Committee has declared Hensley and Shattuck eligible to

No challengers stepped forward to face Roanoke Division Director
Dennis Bodson, W4PWF, or incumbent directors or vice directors in
four other ARRL divisions. Ballots will go out by October 1 to all
full ARRL Roanoke Division members in good standing as of September
10. Votes will be tallied at ARRL Headquarters and the winner
announced on November 17.

Current office holders in the five affected divisions filed valid
petitions by the August 18 deadline to run for new three-year terms.
In addition to Bodson, the Ethics and Election Committee has
declared these unopposed candidates elected: In the Central
Division, Director Dick Isely, W9GIG, and Vice Director Howard
Huntington, K9KM; in the Hudson Division, Director Frank Fallon,
N2FF, and Vice Director Joyce Birmingham, KA2ANF; in the New England
Division, Director Tom Frenaye, K1KI, and Vice Director Mike
Raisbeck, K1TWF, and in the Northwestern Division, Director Jim
Fenstermaker, K9JF, and Vice Director Bill Sawders, K7ZM.

In 2000 Hensley topped a field of three candidates to become South
Carolina SM. She lost her bid for a second term two years later.

Shattuck, who chairs the ARRL Board of Directors' Historical
Committee, was tapped to fill the Vice Director's seat in 2000 after
then-Roanoke Division Director John Kanode, N4MM, was elected as a
vice president and Bodson moved into the director's seat. Shattuck,
who also served as South Carolina Section Manager (1997-2000), was
elected Roanoke Division Vice Director in his own right later that

Successful candidates for the 2007-2009 term take office January 1.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn