Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB012 (2018)

ARLB012 New Section Managers Elected in Five ARRL Sections

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 12  ARLB012
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  May 23, 2018
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB012 New Section Managers Elected in Five ARRL Sections

Five new ARRL Section Managers have been declared elected to begin
their first terms of office on July 1. Section Manager (SM) election
ballots were counted in the Indiana and Northern Florida Sections on
May 22 at ARRL Headquarters. Other candidates faced no opposition
during the spring election cycle.

In Indiana, James "Jimmy" Merry, KC9RPX, of Ellettsville, was
declared elected in a very close race with Brian G. Jenks, W9BGJ,
the Indiana Section Traffic Manager. Merry received 451 votes, and
Jenks, of Fort Wayne, received 438 votes.

Merry has been the Affiliated Club Coordinator in Indiana since
2005, and is presently serving a fifth term as president of the
Bloomington Amateur Radio Club. Incumbent Indiana SM Brent Walls,
N9BA, decided not to run for another term after helming the Indiana
Field Organization since July 2016.

In Northern Florida, Kevin Bess, KK4BFN, outpolled Scott Roberts,
KK4ECR, 564 to 447, to succeed current SM Steve Szabo, WB4OMM. Bess,
of Edgewater, is a Northern Florida Assistant Section Manager, and a
member of the Daytona Beach CERT Amateur Radio Team and of the
Florida Contest Group. Szabo opted not to run for a third term of
office after serving since July 2014.

Oregon also will get a new Section Manager this summer. David Kidd,
KA7OZO, of Oregon City, was the sole candidate for the post. He has
been an Emergency Coordinator and Assistant Section Emergency
Coordinator. Kidd will take the reins of the Oregon Section from
John Core, KX7YT, of Portland, who did not run for a new term after
serving for the past 2 years.

In the East Bay Section, Jim Siemons, W6LK, will begin an 18-month
term as SM on July 1. Because no candidates were nominated by the
September 8, 2017, deadline, nominations were resolicited. Siemons,
of Walnut Creek, California, was the only nominee to succeed
incumbent SM Jim Latham, AF6AQ, of Livermore, who has served as East
Bay Section Manager since 2008 and did not run for a new term.

In New Mexico, Bill Mader, K8TE, of Rio Rancho, will become the new
SM there in July. He, too, was the only candidate after nominations
had to be resolicited, and he will serve an 18-month term. He
follows incumbent SM Ed James, KA8JMW, of Edgewood, who did not run
again after serving since 2015.

Several incumbent Section Managers were unopposed for new 2-year
terms starting on July 1. They are Ron Morgan, AD9I (Illinois); Bill
Crowley, K1NIT (Maine); Jim Kvochick, K8JK (Michigan); Paul Gayet,
AA1SU (Vermont), and Patrick Moretti, KA1RB (Wisconsin).


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn