Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB012 (2013)

ARLB012 Section Manager Election Results Announced

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 12  ARLB012
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  May 22, 2013
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB012 Section Manager Election Results Announced

This spring, the ARRL held two balloted elections for Section
Manager. ARRL members in Nebraska elected a new Section Manager,
while members in Utah -- faced with a three-way race -- voted to
keep their Section Manager. In addition, ARRL members in New
Hampshire and Wisconsin will each get a new Section Manager, and
Section Managers in seven Sections ran unopposed and were declared
elected for a new two-year term. Ballots were counted and verified
at ARRL Headquarters on Tuesday, May 21.

In Nebraska, Matthew Anderson, KA0BOJ, of Ashland, was declared the
winner with 184 votes; Dan Steinhoff, W7UP, of Omaha, received 123
votes. Anderson previously served as Section Manager from January
2005-December 2008. His term of office begins July 1 and is for 18
months, since nominations had to be re-solicited, as current Section
Manager Art Zygielbaum, K0AIZ, of Lincoln, decided not to run for
another term of office. Zygielbaum has served as Section Manager
since January 2009.

In the Utah Section Manager election, Mel Parkes, NM7P, of Layton,
was re-elected with 360 votes; challengers Pat Malan, N7PAT, of
South Jordan, received 197 votes, while Mickey Applebaum, KE7NZA, of
Salt Lake City, received 82 votes. Parkes has served as the Utah
Section Manager since 1999; he begins his eighth term of office on
July 1.

New Hampshire will be getting a new Section Manager as of July 1:
Peter Stohrer, K1PJS, of Concord, was the only nominee to submit a
petition by the March 8 receipt deadline. Stohrer is currently an
Emergency Coordinator, Official Relay Station and Official Observer
in the New Hampshire Section. He previously served as the Public
Information Coordinator in New Hampshire. Current New Hampshire
Section Manager Al Shuman, K1AKS, of New Boston, decided not to run
for another term of office. Shuman has served as the New Hampshire
Section Manager from December 1992-June 1999 and from October
2000-June 2005. He was then appointed Section Manager in 2008.

Wisconsin will also have a new Section Manager as of July 1: Gary
Sorensen, W9ULK, of Oxford, has been appointed Wisconsin Section
Manager. ARRL Membership and Volunteer Programs Manager Dave Patton,
NN1N, made the appointment after current Wisconsin Section Manager
Don Michalski, W9IXG, of Madison, announced that he was stepping
down. Patton received Michalski's recommendation and consulted with
ARRL Central Division Director Dick Isely, W9GIG, before making the
appointment official. Michalski has served as Section Manager since
July 1999. Sorensen will complete the current term of office that
continues through June 30, 2014. He is currently the Wisconsin
Section Emergency Coordinator and a Public Information Officer.

The following incumbent ARRL Section Managers did not face
opposition and were declared elected for their upcoming terms of
office beginning July 1: Jim Cross, WI3N, Maryland-DC; Joe Giraudo,
N7JEH, Nevada; Jim Mezey, W2KFV, New York City-Long Island; Rich
Krohn, N2SMV, Northern New Jersey; Bob Beaudet, W1YRC, Rhode Island;
Dan Pruitt, AE6SX, San Joaquin Valley, and Bill Roberts, W5NPR, West


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn