Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB003 (2023)

ARLB003 Leadership Changes in ARRL Atlantic Division

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 3  ARLB003
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  February 3, 2023
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB003 Leadership Changes in ARRL Atlantic Division

The ARRL Atlantic Division has new leadership. Tom Abernethy, W3TOM,
who had served as an ARRL Director, representing the Atlantic
Division since 2015, stepped down on January 6, 2023.

Vice Director Robert "Bob" Famiglio, K3RF, of Media, Pennsylvania,
is the new Division Director. ARRL Section Manager for Maryland/DC
Marty Pittinger, KB3MXM, of Owings Mills, Maryland, has been
appointed Vice Director by ARRL President Rick Roderick, K5UR.

Famiglio was initially Atlantic Division Vice Director from 2015
until 2017, appointed in 2019 to fill a vacancy, and then elected
unopposed for a term beginning in 2021. A practicing lawyer, he has
served as an ARRL Volunteer Council for decades. Famiglio is also an
electrical engineer and former broadcast station owner and engineer.
He is an FAA-certificated pilot. He is a Life Member of the
Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE). He earned
his amateur radio license in 1967, and is an ARRL Life Member.

In an email to the Atlantic Division members in early January,
Abernethy said he still plans to be involved, stating, "After having
served for over 20 years in ARRL elected offices, it is my intention
to remain very active in support of ARRL, and I wish everyone all
the best as we head into the future of amateur radio and ARRL."

Pittinger was the Section Manager for Maryland/DC, one of seven ARRL
Sections that make up the Atlantic Division. He has an extensive
background in radio, served in the US Navy on submarines, and works
for a federal agency in his professional life.

Assistant Section Manager and Affiliated Club Coordinator for
Maryland/DC, Christopher D. Van Winkle, AB3WG, has been appointed
Section Manager by ARRL Field Services Manager Mike Walters, W8ZY.

Famiglio and Pittinger will each serve the remainder of 3 year terms
ending December 31, 2023.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn