Register Account

Login Help

ARRL Special Bulletin ARLX011 (2000)

ARLX011 K1TO and N5TJ repeat as WRTC winners

QST de W1AW  
Special Bulletin 11  ARLX011
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  July 10, 2000
To all radio amateurs 

ARLX011 K1TO and N5TJ repeat as WRTC winners

World-champion contesters Dan Street, K1TO, and Jeff Steinman, N5TJ
(ex-KR0Y), retained its title at the World Radiosport Team
Championship 2000 competition in Bled, Slovenia. Street and Steinman
topped the field of 53 WRTC-2000 two-operator teams from around the
world in off- and on-the-air operating events designed to test their
contesting skills. Using the call sign S584M, K1TO-N5TJ racked up
969 points.

The competition included the 24-hour on-air event, concurrent with
the IARU HF World Championship Contest held over the weekend as well
as off-air pileup tape competition held last week prior to the

During the 24-hour IARU/WRTC event, K1TO and N5TJ managed to put
2234 contacts into the log--1277 of them on CW--and collected 364
multipliers. Street and Steinman also topped the field of
competitors at the last WRTC, held in 1996 in the San Francisco Bay
area. Teams from the US took four of the top ten finishing slots in

Finishing in second place with 910 points was the Russian team of
RA3AUU and RV1AW, operating as S587N. Coming in at number 3 with
870.34 points was the US wildcard team of Doug Grant, K1DG, and CQ
magazine contest editor John Dorr, K1AR. Grant and Dorr operated as

Other US teams in the top 10 included the S519I team, Bob Shohet,
KQ2M, and Daniel Handa, W7WA--at number 8, and the S531R combo of
Jeff Briggs, K1ZM, and Andy Blank, N2NT--at number 10.

During this third WRTC, operators competed using modest stations
running 100 W on CW and SSB on 80, 40, 20, 15, and 10 meters. All
sites were equipped with three-element Yagis for 10, 15, and 20
meters, and Windom antennas for 80 and 40 meters, both mounted just
under 40 feet above ground.

Sponsoring WRTC-2000 was the Slovenia Contest Club. The ARRL's David
Sumner, K1ZZ, served as chief referee.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn