Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB018 (2011)

ARLB018 New Section Manager Appointed in West Texas

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 18  ARLB018
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  July 12, 2011
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB018 New Section Manager Appointed in West Texas

Bill Roberts, W5NPR, of Alpine, has been appointed as the Interim
West Texas Section Manager as of July 8, 2011. ARRL Membership and
Volunteer Programs Manager Dave Patton, NN1N, made the appointment
in consultation with ARRL West Gulf Division Director David
Woolweaver, K5RAV.

Roberts has served as the ARRL West Texas Section Traffic Manager
since 2009. He is a past president of the Big Bend Amateur Radio
Club and is also active as a back-up net control station for the Big
Bend Emergency/West Texas ARES Net and a net control station for the
National Traffic System's Daytime Region Net 5.

John Dyer, AE5B, recently completed his latest term of office as the
West Texas Section Manager on June 30. Dyer has served as the top
Field Organization official in West Texas since July 2007; he
previously served as Section Manager from October 2002-June 2005.
Dyer decided not to run for a new term of office that began July 1,
2011. Roberts will serve as Interim West Texas Section Manager until
a Section Manager is declared elected.

Section Manager Nomination Petition Resolicitation

Since no nominations were received for the West Texas Section
Manager election by the nomination deadline of March 4, 2011,
nominations are hereby resolicited. Nomination petitions need to be
received at ARRL Headquarters by 4 PM EDT on September 9, 2011. If
more than one member is nominated in the section, ballots will be
mailed from Headquarters on or before October 3, 2011, to full
members of record as of September 9, 2011, the closing date for
nominations. Returns will be counted on November 22, 2011. A Section
Manager elected as result of the above procedure will take office on
January 1, 2012.

If only one valid petition is received from a Section, that nominee
shall be declared elected without opposition.  A Section Manager
elected through the resolicitation will serve a term of 18 months
(instead of two years). For more information, see page 67 of the
August 2011 issue of QST.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn