Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB005 (2000)

ARLB005 ARRL Board Elects New President, Officers

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 5  ARLB005
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  January 21, 2000
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB005 ARRL Board Elects New President, Officers

Jim D. Haynie, W5JBP, of Dallas, Texas, will be the next president
of the ARRL. The ARRL Board of Directors elected Haynie January 21
shortly after convening in Memphis, Tennessee. Haynie, 56, is
currently the ARRL West Gulf Division Director. He will succeed Rod
Stafford, W6ROD, to become the League's 13th president.

Calling the recently announced FCC restructuring plan ''a positive
thing,'' Haynie said his presidency will focus on the future of
Amateur Radio, and he suggested amateurs take the opportunity to
regroup. ''Now that restructuring is behind us, I think it's time for
all amateurs--League members and nonmembers alike--to pull together
to see what we can do to make our hobby a thriving and vibrant

The President-elect pledged to work with the Board, his fellow
officers, and with all amateurs to bring respect to Amateur Radio
and to enhance its stature here and abroad. ''I think it's time the
League started changing,'' he said. ''I think there's a lot we can
do.'' While not offering specific programs at this point, Haynie said
he favors even greater promotion of Amateur Radio, especially among
youth and in schools. He also said he'd like to see programs to
rekindle interest and activity among current licensees.

''The best interest for Amateur Radio as a whole is where the League
Board of Directors stand, and it's certainly where I stand,'' he

A ham for 27 years and an ARRL Board member for 12 years, Haynie
says Amateur Radio is his ''escape'' from the world of industry and
commerce. An Advanced class licensee, Haynie has been a
manufacturer's representative in the metals business for 30 years
and runs his own firm in Dallas. He also currently chairs the ARRL
Board Audit and Finance Committee.

The Board also elected new vice presidents. Vice President Joel
Harrison, W5ZN, was elevated to First Vice President. Atlantic
Director Kay Craigie, WT3P, and Roanoke Director John Kanode, N4MM,
were picked as Vice Presidents. Vice President Hugh Turnbull, W3ABC,
was elected Honorary Vice President.

ARRL President Rod Stafford, W6ROD, was elected to succeed past ARRL
president Larry Price, W4RA, as International Affairs Vice
President. Price now serves as president of the International
Amateur Radio Union and did seek not re-election.

Haynie said the League Vice Presidents would become ''more like a
strike team'' during his term. ''They're part of the team,'' he said.

Reelected as League officers were Treasurer James McCobb, W1LLU;
Chief Financial Officer Barry Shelley, N1VXY; and Secretary and
Executive Vice President David Sumner, K1ZZ.

Haynie's election means that West Gulf Vice Director Coy Day, N5OK,
will become Director. The changes also mean that Atlantic Division
Vice Director Bernie Fuller, N3EFN, and Roanoke Vice Director Dennis
Bodson, W4PWF, will become Directors. The vacancies in the Vice
Directors' seats will be filled by appointment.

As do other ARRL officers, the League's president serves as an
unpaid volunteer. All League officers-elect formally will assume
their positions when the Board meeting concludes January 22. All
terms are for two years.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn