Register Account

Login Help


Yasme Foundation Announces Award Winners, Grant Recipients


The Yasme Foundation Board of Directors has announced the recipients of several awards and monetary grants. The Foundation named four individuals to receive the Yasme Excellence Award for 2014 as well as eight specific grant recipients. 

Honored as Yasme Excellence Award winners were:

  • Kimo Chun, KH7U, for 20 years of behind-the-scenes support to DXpeditions to Pacific entities — including logistics, organization, equipment, local contacts and planning.
  • Dick Flagg, AH6NM, for his years of working with the Amateur Radio on the International Space Station (ARISS) and its predecessor Shuttle Amateur Radio EXperiment (SAREX) and in supporting NASA’s Radio Jove project, both designed to introduce Amateur Radio to students and the general public.
  • Florin Cristian Predescu, YO9CNU, and Lisa Leenders, PA2LS, for their work in organizing and promoting Youngsters on the Air (YOTA) and Amateur Radio youth activities.

The Yasme Excellence Award is presented to individuals who, through their own service, creativity, effort and dedication, have made a significant contribution to Amateur Radio in technical, operating, or organizational achievement.

The Yasme Foundation also has designated several entities and one individual to receive monetary grants to further their contributions to and efforts on behalf of Amateur Radio. Grants included:

  • $9500 to the California Historical Radio Society, to fund the Maxwell Library and Maxwell Archives Room in support of the efforts of Jim Maxwell, W6CF (SK), to maintain the history of Amateur Radio.
  • $2000 to Bruce Horn, WA7BNM, for providing web-based services to the Amateur Radio community.
  • $2000 to the World Wide Radio Operators Foundation (WWROF) in recognition of its support for the Yasme Foundation, other Amateur Radio groups, and international radiosport activities, and for providing webinars to the Amateur Radio community.

The Yasme Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation organized to conduct scientific and educational projects related to amateur radio, including DXing and the introduction and promotion of Amateur Radio in developing countries. — Thanks to Yasme Foundation President Ward Silver, N0AX




Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn