Register Account

Login Help


Radio Amateurs Are Among Radio Club of America 2015 Award Winners


The Radio Club of America (RCA) has announced the recipients of its 2015 awards, and the list includes several radio amateurs. Recipients will be honored at the RCA 2015 Awards Banquet and Technical Symposium on November 21 in Cupertino, California.

  • The RCA Special Recognition Award goes to Glenn Bischoff, in appreciation for his dedicated service and contributions in promoting the Radio Club of America.
  • The recipient of the Sarnoff Citation is Irwin Mark Jacobs, for contributions to the advancement of wireless communication in the development of CDMA technology.
  • Receiving the Henri Busignies Memorial Award is Raymond L. Collins, in recognition of his substantial contributions to the advancement of electronics for the benefit of mankind, specifically in work with the US military.
  • The Lee DeForest Award recipient for 2015 is Elizabeth Maxfield Esq, for significant contributions to the advancement of radio communications.
  • Receiving the Alfred H. Grebe Award is Dr Nathan Cohen, W1YW, in recognition of the achievement of excellence in engineering and manufacturing of radio equipment.
  • The Ralph Batcher Memorial Award winner is David P. Bart, KB9YPD, for exceptional work in preserving the history of radio and electronic communications and the history of the Radio Club of America.
  • The recipient of the 2015 President’s Award is Timothy J. Duffy, K3LR, for unselfish dedication in supporting the Radio Club of America.
  • The Edgar F. Johnson Pioneer Citation winner is Gerald L. Agliata, W2GLA, in appreciation of his longtime and substantial contributions to the success of the Radio Club of America.
  • Receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award will be Prof Frank Drake Ph.D, to recognize contributions spanning more than 5 decades in the research and development of radio telescopes and their use in the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence (SETI).
  • The Vivian A. Carr Award goes to Carole Perry, WB2MGP, in recognition of substantial contributions by a woman in wireless communications.
  • Winner of the National Public Safety Telecommunications Council (NPSTC) Richard DeMello Award is Tom Sorley, for achievement at the highest level of personal professional conduct and performance in the local, state and national public safety communications arenas.

Designated as 2015 Fellows of the RCA were Arnold Hopper, K4AHH; Ray Novak, N9JA; Michael Schmidt; William Waugaman, WA3OJG, and John Wright, N6RPD.

David Leeson, W6NL, will deliver a keynote banquet presentation, “Entrepreneurship of Communications in Silicon Valley.” At the Technical Symposium, Dr. Frank Drake will give a presentation, “Breakthrough Listen and SETI.”





Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn