Register Account

Login Help


IARU Member-Societies Ratify New Officers, Vote to Admit New Members


On February 10, IARU Secretary David Sumner, K1ZZ, counted ballots submitted by IARU Member-Societies. Proposals submitted to the Member-Societies in September 2008 (IARU Calendar 187) included the election of a new IARU President and Vice President, and admission of two new Amateur Radio societies to the IARU. Per the IARU Constitution, each Member-Society must submit its vote in writing; late votes will not be counted.

According to Sumner, 73 Member-Societies cast votes or abstentions on the proposals; of these votes, 57 affirmative votes are required for the proposal to pass.

Proposal Number 241 concerned the ratification of the nomination of Timothy S. Ellam, VE6SH/G4HUA, to serve as President of the IARU for a 5 year term to begin May 9, 2009: Ellam was declared elected, with 72 votes in favor and 1 abstention.

Upon his election as the next IARU President, Ellam said he was "very honoured to have been elected as President of IARU and [I] look forward to working with all three Regions and the Member-Societies during my term in office. We no doubt will face many issues in the run up to the 2011 World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC-11), but I look forward to working as a team to meet the challenges ahead. I would like to thank Larry Price, W4RA, for his sterling work with IARU during his term as President. IARU is in a very strong position today as a result of Larry's leadership. His support and friendship to me has also been very helpful in fulfilling my former duties as Vice President."

Ellam was a delegate to the 1998 IARU Region 2 Conference and was elected to the Region 2 Executive Committee in 2001, stepping down upon his election to IARU Vice President in 2004. He also served as an IARU Expert Consultant from 2000 until his election as Vice President. First licensed in 1977 as VE6CJR at the age of 16, Ellam credits a visit to the ITU in 1979 and the opportunity to operate 4U1ITU during his student years with contributing to his interest in the organizational side of Amateur Radio. He held executive positions in the Radio Amateurs of Canada (RAC) and one of its predecessor organizations, the Canadian Radio Relay League (CRRL), starting in 1990. Ellam's extensive travel as IARU Vice President has included a particular emphasis on the ITU Development Sector. He is active on the air from his home in Calgary.

Professionally, Ellam is a Barrister and Solicitor with the law firm of McCarthy Tetrault LLP. He is a partner in the firm's Calgary, Alberta, and London, UK, offices. Born in England, Ellam emigrated to Canada in 1972 and holds both Canadian and British/EU citizenship. He holds a BA in political science and economics from the University of Calgary and an LLB from the University of Alberta. He is a member of the Law Societies of Alberta and England & Wales, as well as of the International Bar Association. In 2005, Ellam was made a Fellow in International Legal Practice - College of Law of England and Wales, the first Canadian lawyer to be awarded the designation. He is also qualified in the UK as a solicitor/advocate and was recently awarded higher rights qualifications (the right to appear in all courts) in that jurisdiction. His extensive legal experience includes intellectual property and corporate litigation, arbitrations involving communications, technology and energy matters, and utility regulations.

Proposal Number 242 concerned the ratification of the nomination of Ole Garpestad, LA2RR, to serve as Vice President of the IARU for a 5 year term beginning on May 9, 2009. Garpestad was declared elected, receiving 73 votes.

"Congratulations to Ole Garpestad for his election as Vice President," Ellam said. "I am very pleased to have Ole as part of the officer team and know he will do an excellent job in his new position."

Garpestad joined the Norsk Radio Relae Liga (NRRL) -- Norway's IARU Member-Society -- in 1972, one year before he was licensed as LA2RR. His service as an NRRL volunteer includes service as a member of the NRRL Board of Directors from 1981-1992. While on the NRRL Board, Garpestad served as Secretary, ARDF Manager, IARU Liaison Officer. He also served as Chairman of the Second ARDF World Championship's Organizing Committee and as a member of the IARU Region 1 Conference's Organizing Committee for that meeting in Lillehammer in 1999. Garpestad topped off his service to the NRRL Board of Directors when he served as NRRL President from 2000-2002.

In 1999, Garpestad was elected to the IARU Region 1 Executive Committee, and was elected Chairman in 2002. He has represented Region 1 on the IARU's Administrative Council since 2001 and has attended IARU conferences in Regions 2 and 3. He has participated in CEPT preparations for WRC-03 and WRC-07, attending both conferences as a Norwegian delegate representing Amateur Radio interests.

Garpestad is a telecom and radio engineer working with development, system design and program management of tactical communications systems for Thales Norway AS (formerly Alcatel). He holds an MSc in electronic engineering and radio technology from the Technical University of Norway in Trondheim.

Proposal Number 243 concerned the admission of Emirates Amateur Radio Society (EARS) as an IARU Member-Society. The proposal received 72 votes in favor and 1 abstention. Based in Sharjah, EARS was formally authorized by the Ministry of Social Affairs of the United Arab Emirates on February 5, 2008. There are 72 licensed Amateur Radio operators in the UAE; 28 are members of EARS. His Highness Abdulla Faisal Al Qassimi, A61AQ, is EARS President. Yousuf Ahmed Rafee, A61Y, is Vice President. Mohammad Hamza Darwish, A61M, serves as EARS General Secretary and IARU Liaison, and Qabila Shatter Al Bedawi, A61YL, is Treasurer.

Proposal Number 244 concerned the admission of Kazakhstan Federation of Radiosports and Radioamateur (KFRR). The proposal received 73 votes in favor. According to the IARU, KFRR registered with the Ministry of Justice of the Republic of Kazakhstan and holds a general license from that country's Sports Committee, Ministry of Tourism and Sport. On May 17, 2008, KFFR held its first conference. The Chairman of the KFFR is Seitkul Assaubay, UN7BM; KFFR Vice Chairman is Igor Marchenko, UN7BF. Of the 617 licensed amateurs in Kazakhstan, 452 are KFFR members.

With the addition of the Emirates Amateur Radio Society and the Kazakhstan Federation of Radiosports and Radioamateur, there are now 162 IARU Member-Societies.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn