Register Account

Login Help


Ballots Counted, Results Announced in Three ARRL Section Manager Contests


Three new Section Managers and five incumbent Section Managers will begin new terms in their respective sections starting on April 1. The results of three contested elections in the winter election cycle were announced February 23, after ballots were tallied at ARRL Headquarters.

In the Pacific Section, Joe Speroni, AH0A, of Honolulu received 228 votes, to 103 for Kimberly Fendt, WH6KIM, of Mountain View received 103 votes. Speroni has been the Pacific Section’s Affiliated Club Coordinator and maintains a variety of Amateur Radio-related interests.

Outgoing Pacific Section Manager Bob Schneider, AH6J, of Keaau, decided not to run for another term of office after serving for the past 10 years. Schneider also had served earlier as Pacific SM from 1992 to 1996 and from 2002 to 2004.

In the San Diego Section, Dave Kaltenborn, N8KBC, of Chula Vista, California, outpolled Patrick Bunsold, WA6MHZ, of El Cajon, California, 350 to 219 votes.

Kaltenborn brings more than 25 years of experience as a radio amateur to the top post in San Diego Field Organization. He has been Assistant Section Manager, Assistant Section Emergency Coordinator, and a District and local Emergency Coordinator.

Outgoing Section Manager Steve Early, AD6VI, of La Mesa, California, decided not to run for another term after serving for the past 8 years.

In Virginia, incumbent Section Manager Joe Palsa, K3WRY, received 870 votes, while Anthony Harbour, KG4YXP, of Ridgeway received 512.

Palsa, of North Chesterfield, was appointed as Virginia’s SM 1 year ago, to complete the remaining term of then-Section Manager Carl Clements, W4CAC, who had stepped down. With this election, Palsa will continue as Section Manager for the next 2 years.

In Louisiana, Scott Wren, KD5DFL, of Pineville, will succeed Jim Molan, KD5IGG, as Section Manager on April 1. Wren was the only nominee for the new term when Molan, of Cottonport, announced that he would not run for the position again after serving for one term.

Wren has served as Section Emergency Coordinator for the past 2 years and as an Assistant District Emergency Coordinator or Emergency Coordinator since 2005.

These incumbent ARRL Section Managers faced no opposition and have been declared elected for new terms beginning on April 1:

Pete Cecere, N2YJZ, Eastern New York; Joe Ames, W3JY, Eastern Pennsylvania; Karl Bowman, W4CHX, North Carolina; and Chris Stallkamp, W0ADZ, South Dakota. 



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn