Register Account

Login Help


ARRL Board of Directors Meets in Connecticut for 2010 Second Meeting


The ARRL Board of Directors held its Second Meeting of 2010 July 16-17 in Windsor, Connecticut, under the chairmanship of President Kay Craigie, N3KN. International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) Secretary Rod Stafford, W6ROD, and Radio Amateurs of Canada (RAC) President Geoff Bawden, VE4BAW, were guests of the Board. At the two-day meeting, the Board considered a number of reports and acted on several recommendations and Directors’ motions.

National Broadband Plan: General Counsel Chris Imlay, W3KD, reported that the recently released National Broadband Plan could be a concern to Amateur Radio operators, especially the amateur spectrum near 2.3 GHz. Saying that “nothing is sacred,” Imlay said that even spectrum occupied by the Department of Defense is being challenged.

Legislative Relations: ARRL Legislative Consultant John Chwat of Chwat & Company reported that his office had received more than 2400 letters from amateurs supporting HR 2160 and S 1755. He noted that there are only a few more weeks left in the 111th Congress and that the ARRL must continue efforts its efforts to have the House consider these bills. He also reported on the progress of legislation concerning the tax deduction for personal vehicle mileage on behalf of charitable organizations and the ARRL’s efforts to avoid impact on mobile operating in distracted-driving legislation.

ARES® Anniversary: Upon recommendation of the Programs and Services Committee, acting upon a proposal of the League’s Public Relations Committee, the Board adopted a motion to recognize 2010 as the 75th anniversary of the Amateur Radio Emergency Service® (ARES®).

Election Procedures: The Board considered, but ultimately declined to adopt, a proposal from the Executive Committee to amend the procedures for appealing decisions of the Ethics and Elections Committee.

Submission of Petitions for Candidacy: The Board did adopt an amendment to the Bylaws to allow Director and Vice Director candidates to submit their petitions via fax or e-mail attachment, provided that upon request by the Secretary the original documents are received within seven days of the request. This provision is in effect for the current round of Director and Vice Director elections.

Contest Rule Changes: Acting on a recommendation of the Contest Advisory Committee, the Board adopted change in the VHF contest rules for contacts using LASER and similar signal sources.

Financial Matters: ARRL treasurer Jim McCobb, K1LU, told the Board that the ARRL stock portfolio has recovered from the recent decline in the market, and most of the loss the portfolio had incurred has been recouped. ARRL Chief Financial Officer Barry Shelley, N1VXY, reported that the independent accounting firm retained by the League had rendered an unqualified opinion and that the financial performance for the first half of 2010 was on track with the budget plan, which calls for a positive change in net assets for the year. Upon recommendation of the Administration and Finance Committee, as presented by Chairman Jim Fenstermaker, K9JF, the Board formally accepted the financial statements, including the auditors’ opinion letter, for the year ending December 31, 2009.

ARRL Foundation: Foundation President Tom Frenaye, K1KI, highlighted the recent activities of the ARRL Foundation, noting that it had awarded 66 scholarships, totaling more than $100,000, to deserving amateurs attending undergraduate or graduate institutions.

Contracts: The Board voted that all publication printing contracts valued at or in excess of $20,000 and all other contracts or agreements valued at or in excess of $10,000 must be reviewed from a legal standpoint by the ARRL General Counsel.

IARU: The Board directed the ARRL Secretary to cast a vote in favor of IARU Proposal No 246, concerning the admission of the Montenegrin Amateur Radio Pool (MARP) to IARU membership.


Hiram Percy Maxim Award: The Board selected Emily Bishop, WE4MB, of Cleveland, Tennessee, as the recipient of the 2009 Hiram Percy Maxim Award.

Joe Knight Distinguished Service Award: The Board conferred the ARRL Joe Knight Distinguished Service Award on ARRL Maryland/DC Section Manager Jim Cross III, WI3N, of Laurel, Maryland.

Doug DeMaw, W1FB, Technical Excellence Award: Rudy Severns, N6LF, of Cottage Grove, Oregon, received the 2009 Doug DeMaw, W1FB, Technical Excellence Award.

Technical Service Award: The 2010 ARRL Technical Service Award went to Richard Knadle, K2RIW, of Dix Hills, New York, for his service to Amateur Radio, serving as Net Control Operator for 27 years for the Technical Net on the Long Island Mobile Amateur Radio Club’s repeater.

Technical Innovation Award: Sumner “Skip” Hansen, WB6YMH, of Rancho Palos Verdes, California, received the 2010 ARRL Technical Innovation Award for his software that allows EchoLink, IRLP and other VoIP services to simultaneously connect multiple users around the world.

Herb S. Brier Instructor of the Year Award: The Board selected Delvin Bunton, N7QMT, of Vancouver, Washington, and Phillip Peterson, AC7NB, of Brush Prairie, Washington, as the co-recipients of the 2010 Herb S. Brier Instructor of the Year Award.

Philip J. McGan Memorial Silver Antenna Award: The Board selected Norm Lauterette, WA4HYJ, of Casselberry, Florida, as the winner of the 2010 Philip J. McGan Memorial Silver Antenna Award for active promotion of Amateur Radio.

The complete Minutes of the 2010 Second Meeting of the ARRL Board of Directors are available on the ARRL Web site.

The next meeting of the ARRL Board of Directors is scheduled for January 21-22, 2011.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn