ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Exra Exam E3C09 anwer error?

Jan 23rd 2020, 13:46

tenthwave

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Hi All
I'm studying for the Amateur Extra exam. I'm throwing this forum question into "Propagation" to match the Extra exam classification.

Question E3C09 asks about the relative strength of an X3 solar flare compared to an X2 solar flare. The "official" answer seems to be that an X3 is TWICE as strong as an X2, suggesting that the subscript uses a logarithmic scale. A different answer for that question in the exam is that an X3 is 50% stronger than an X2, suggesting that (within the X-class) the subscript uses a linear scale. I think that the "wrong" answer is actually correct.

From what I read on a number of sites on the internet the correct answer should be that, within the X class, the subscripts are linear.
Normally the subscripts range from 1 to 9 except for the X class which can be extended.

The strongest X class flare to date is an X28 which is 28X as strong as an X1.

All of the practice sites say that an X3 is twice as strong as an X2.

Am I missing something here?... misreading the question?
Jan 24th 2020, 11:33

tenthwave